With 10 fires still burning across the state, foregoing fireworks next week would seem a no-brainer. And a statewide ban on the use of fireworks makes the decision to celebrate with fireworks illegal. But that does not prevent licensed retailers from selling them in counties that allow it. Unincorporated Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas and Jefferson counties allow the sale of fireworks by licensed stands and stores. And fireworks retailers argue that the need is not to ban the fireworks but to educate the public on how fireworks should be used.

Boulder and Larimer counties have prohibited the sale of fireworks in unincorporated areas this year, and the city and county of Denver bans fireworks sales. But at least one city, Longmont, has chosen to allow legal fireworks on private property. The sale and use of small fireworks, such as sparklers and snakes, are legal on private property in Longmont.
In Denver, the “possession, manufacture, storage, sale, handling, and use of fireworks are prohibited,” according to the Denver Fire Department website. The Denver ban has been in place for several years. The maximum punishment is a fine of $999 and up to a year in jail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *